Digital Postcards 📬

You can send a Digital Postcard to a member district staff member or a fellow SCREDster! You just fill out a short Google Form, and the recipient will receive an artistic digital card in their inbox.


Annual Awards 🏆

During our end-of-year gathering in late May, our administrative team has the privilege of presenting three current employees with our annual awards — and honoring a large group of their fellow nominees. Selecting an award recipient among the candidates is always a very challenging task!

We highlight the recipients in our newsletter, on social media, and their names are added to plaques in the training center. Recipients also receive certificates, traveling awards, and in the case of the "lasting imprint" award, the recipient literally adds their fingerprint to a piece of artwork.

annual awards

Please read up on the award criteria below and then nominate a colleague or self-nominate using the linked Google Forms (below). May 1st is our annual cut-off in order to give the admin. team enough time to review nominations and determine an award recipient.


Ripple Effect Award

Submit a nomination! The recipient must have five or fewer years in the field of education or within first five years of employment at SCRED. (Tip: You can check our seniority list).

We are committed to mentoring, encouraging, and recognizing emerging leaders in the field of education. To that end, this award is presented to an employee who exhibits the leadership excellence required to be effective in their unique role at SCRED. These skills may include:

  • A willingness to take risks
  • An ability to collaborate
  • Skills in listening and communicating
  • The creation of innovative ideas to solve challenges
  • The skills to effectively advocate for students’ needs
  • A broad understanding of the educational system to help move systems forward  

Further, this award is given to an individual who has demonstrated passion and commitment to improving outcomes for all students.

Previous recipients: Joan Bloemendaal-Gruett (2023), Jodi Henderson (2022), Kristen Swalboski (2021), Raycheal Zamora (2020), Connie Simm (2019), Caiti Knudson (2018), Nic van Oss (2017)


Lasting Imprint Award

Submit a nomination! The recipient must have more than five years of employment at SCRED, in the same position or across multiple positions. (Tip: You can check our seniority list).

This award honors SCREDsters who have created lasting change and measurable difference within our organization and its member districts. It is presented to an employee who has made significant contributions to the betterment of the organization by going above and beyond their service description to carry out the mission of SCRED. The individual has also demonstrated a commitment to encouraging, developing, and mentoring new SCRED and/or member district staff.

Previous recipients: Kalie VanMeveren (2023), Anne Meyer (2022), Julie Hawkinson (2021), Angela Christenson (2020), Jackie Hanson (2019), Barb Scierka (2018), Karen Wolner (2017)


Spirit of Excellence Award

Submit a nomination! The recipient must be a support staff member.

Our amazing office staff are critical to the overall functioning and success of the organization. This award is given annually to an office staff member who exhibits a “spirit of excellence” in their work across the following areas:

  • Performance in assigned duties (job excellence, initiative, creativity, pro-active, continued self-improvement/education, efficiency, timeliness, conscientiousness)
  • Professionalism (motivational/mentor to others, ethical behavior, positive attitude, inspiration to others)
  • Contribution to workplace harmony and quality (teamwork and team building, camaraderie, effective communication, interpersonal skills, flexibility)
  • “Beyond the Call of Duty” (contributions to SCRED’s mission, image, and service to our member districts)

Previous recipients: Cherie Turek (2023), Sandy Benson (2022), Suzie Hischer (2021), Hailey Swanson (2020), Kelly Tocholke (2019), Brenda Collins (2018), Joan Rustad (2017)




Click MorePlease reach out to our Executive Director if you'd like to discuss staff recognition or have questions!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.