Multi-Tiered System of Supports (MTSS) is a systemic, continuous improvement framework in which data-based problem solving and decision-making is practiced across all levels of the educational system for supporting all students (including students receiving special education services).

MTSS is a foundational paradigm, meaning that every practice, procedure, and policy in a school can be viewed meaningfully through the lens of MTSS. MTSS is at the core of SCRED's mission because when schools organize their supports within this framework, effectiveness increases and everyone benefits.

Overall information about MTSS:
  • MnMTSS webpage from MDE The Minnesota Dept. of Education's main webpage that explains the MnMTSS framework. MnMTSS was established in 2021.
  • MTSS Manual SCRED's most thorough, comprehensive internal resource regarding the MTSS framework.
  • MTSS Flowchart A 1-page chart in our MTSS Manual that breaks down the flow of a multi-tiered system.
The structures that constitute MTSS can be broken up into five categories, and that is how the rest of this page is organized: (1) Infrastructure that Supports Continuous Improvement, (2) Family and Community Engagement, (3) Multi-Layered Practices and Support, (4) Assessment, and (5) Data-based Decision Making.

Infrastructure that Supports Continuous Improvement

Teaming Structures

Team Dynamics

  • Teamwork & Collaboration Resources Example team agendas and other resources to help teams develop norms, make decisions together, ensure all voices are heard, and more.

Professional Learning

Family and Community Engagement

Multi-Layered Practices and Support

Evidence-Based Programs: General

Check out these website pages that index evidence-based programs and provide guidance on how to assess the efficacy of curriculum/programs.



Early Childhood



Data-Based Decision Making

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.